AAR
Click here for full forums index

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Spanish romances?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Natalie

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:57 pm    Post subject: Spanish romances? Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I'm studying Spanish and want to make my learning more interesting by reading something in favorite genre Smile So, I'd appreciate any recommendations of original Spanish romance novels, preferrably with not too difficult language.

Someone mentioned Caridad Bravo Adams, but she seems somewhat old-fashioned to me.

Maybe some YA novels? Years ago, when I was in college and learning German (well, trying to), we read a YA german novel about a Turkish girl in Germany who fell in love with a German teen and how their love had to overcome all sorts of cultural barriers and also his very evil neo nazi brother. That short book was way more interesting and useful (not to mention easier) than Im Westen nichts Neues we had to read later Laughing

Anyway, I'd appreciate any recommendations.

Gracias de antemano Smile
Rosario

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I was going to suggest Corin Tellado, as her books are shortish and the language is not complicated, but she's definitely very old-fashioned. Most of her books were written in Franco's Spain, so the characters and gender roles are sometimes quite awful. Still, her books are the romance generations of women in the Spanish-speaking world grew up with, so they might be interesting to you, in a purely anthropological kind of way ;-)