AAR
Click here for full forums index

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wrong verbs
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sally in Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:16 am    Post subject: Wrong verbs Reply with quote

I recently finished reading all six of PB Ryan's Nell Sweeny books. I loved all of them and how forensics helped solve the cases. I thought Will was a wonderful flawed hero and Nell a great heroine overcoming her adversity.

I am not an expert on the English language but I was really annoyed at the wrong usage of verbs such as bring/take and lay/lie. I don't think there was a single instance of the correct verb being used. It really did spoil my total enjoyment as I wanted to throw my Kindle against the wall. This is also occuring in British publications.

I know this has been discussed many times on these boards but I am finding many books with the same problem. Have publishers totally done away with proof readers or is it a case that the authors and proof readers don't know the correct usage? I am now reading more digital books than paperbacks and find many weird errors in digital books.
LeeB.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sometimes I do think the errors make it through the final copy because people don't know the correct usage of certain words. And don't get me started on spelling!!!!

I'd be more than happy to volunteer to proofread authors' books before publication. But when I nicely suggested it to a few authors in the past, I never received a response.
Eliza

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Wrong verbs Reply with quote

Sally, since you know the difference between "bring/take and lay/lie," you are an English expert in my book. Smile