AAR
Click here for full forums index

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Newbie needing recommendations
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
honeybee

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:25 am    Post subject: Newbie needing recommendations Reply with quote

Hello all:

I am a newbie to Romance novels (except for Georgette Heyer) and need some recommendations for my particular situation:

I am an English speaker living in Dutch-speaking Belgium and am trying to learn Dutch. Shocked

I thought it might be fun to read an English romance novel in Dutch translation to help my learning. My idea is to get an English and Dutch version of the same book, so I can read them side-by-side.

I'm looking for something that wouldn't be too complicated. For example, a historical romance might have too much period-specific vocabulary that I wouldn't need.

I am looking for something light, no mysteries or scary stuff. It would have to be a best seller, as I will need to find a book that was popular enough to have been translated into Dutch.

What would y'all recommend? Books by Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele, Barbara Talor Bradford are some of the Dutch translations that I see in the bookstores. I'm sure there are others, but I'm not familiar enough with the most popular authors.

I would really appreciate any suggestions from the forum!
CG

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would suggest anything by Jennifer Crusie for a smart and funny read, and I believe she's been published in Dutch. Welcome to Temptation and Bet Me are two of my favorites.

Susan Elizabeth Phillips is another favorite, she writes intelligent funny contemporaries as well and she has a page on her website for international readers and there's a link to her Dutch publisher.